Commonwealth Fully Funded PhD Scholarships in UK

Commonwealth Fully Funded PhD Scholarships in UK

All highly qualified candidates from high-income Commonwealth countries are invited to apply for the Commonwealth PhD Scholarships funded by the UK Department for Education.

The programme is open for those eligible aspirants who want to full-time doctoral study at a UK university for the academic year 2020/2021.

This golden opportunity covers full tuition fees, plus a stipend of £1,110 per month and other benefits to each successful candidate. The CSC awards over 800 scholarships and fellowships for the postgraduate study each year.


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Show evidence that you are permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country. You must have lived in an eligible Commonwealth country for a period of 5 years for a continuous period within the last 10 years. If the CSC is unable to interpret this from your application, you will be contacted to provide further evidence.
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK between January to March 2020 (to be agreed by the CSC)
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree) by the time of submitting your scholarship application
  • Not be registered for a PhD, or an MPhil leading to a PhD, at a UK university before January 2020
  • Not have commenced and been currently registered for a PhD, or an MPhil leading to a PhD, in your home country or elsewhere
  • Hold an unconditional offer from your chosen university/universities listed on your CSC online application, at the point of being notified that you have been provisionally selected for an award by the CSC*
  • References from at least two individuals
  • A supporting statement from a proposed supervisor at one or more of the UK universities

Eligible Commonwealth countries are Anguilla, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Malta, New Zealand, Seychelles, St Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

How to Apply

Before applying for the award, you need to be registered as a PhD degree student at a recognized UK university. After taking affirmation, applicants can download on their system and submit the award application form.

The applications for the bursary will not be accepted after August 28, 2019.

Apply Now

Leave a Comment